Alarm system monitoring options

apu

Verizon is discontinuing copper phone service in NJ. Still works fine but they don't want to maintain it any longer. I can do voice over FiOS or, since I don't use the line for anything else, maybe its time to switch to something else entirely.

What are you using for monitoring your system? Cellular, Internet, POTS? What monitoring company are you using?

I have an Elk M1 Gold panel with the Ethernet module already installed. Alarm Relay/Watchlight wants to increase my monitoring fee to $15.95 per month (plus a $60 setup fee) to switch from POTS dial-up to Internet which seems like a lot of money for less infrastructure on their end.

Here switched over from copper to VOIP Ooma and a wireless failover with Next alarm.  Works fine for me.  I have been using Next alarm now for many many years.

I have a grandfathered Next alarm account.  Not sure what new contract prices are.

I'd vote for just cellular. Using the Internet is just not reliable enough. If you go the Internet route, make sure you have 8 hours of battery backup for the modem, router, and every switch you use leading to the alarm. Its not worth it.

I'm sure that I'm in the minority here but I self monitor. I get text and a phone call when the system is violated.