Does not feel like an automated house.

tshephard

I've been doing home automation for over 10 years. Even put up a website about it way back then like we all used to do. Its still up at here.

I originally started with a JDS Stargate which I still use. I also had an IR xpander, I/O expander, a single zone home audio for music and announcements, some key lights with X10 control, sprinklers controlled, JDS LCD keypads, RCS thermostat...

It never felt automated enough. I was never happy with X10 so I never expanded the lights beyond a few. IR was not reliable enough, so I never really implemented a home theater control solution. I had home/away buttons to trigger stuff, but no one ever used them. It sat this way for many years. I'd have announcements when the mail showed up. We could play music using the LCD keypads for control. The every day used items are my channel plus and Xantech IR distribution.

Recently when I found out about UPB, I expanded to use Homeseer pro with the Stargate plugin, and purchased a lot of UPB switches. I'm still a few short, but these have proved to be very reliable. I purchased a Caddx and at first tied it to Stargate, but was not happy with the Caddx - Stargate - Homeseer integration, so I moved Caddx directly to Homeseer.

Even with these upgrades I'm finding that I'm not doing very much with it. For example, even with about 15 UPB lights, all I'm really doing is making sure they are off after the alarm is set. Outside lights are timed to come on at dark, but thats not much. I still find myself running around the house turning off lights, dimming them for movie time, etc...

I'm still running down stairs to turn off the TV's the kids leave on, or running through the several steps to get their shows on with different remotes. I have HSTouch for my iPhone, but it some ways its just easier to grab the remotes and get it done then find the phone and hope all the automation works. I know it is for my wife for sure.