Elk UL listing for Household Fire

JonR

I'm trying to make sure my Elk install is a slam-dunk for approval by the electrical inspector so I've looked carefully at the UL listing requirements as listed in Appendix F of the M1 Installation Manual. One of the statements is that "at least one bell fixture is required for all applications." Does this mean a mechanical bell is required?

Elsewhere, the manual states that using Out 1 for speakers is "not for use in UL Listed Systems." This seems to be saying that to meet the UL standard I can't have any speakers but I must have one bell. I'm confused!

Thanks,
JonR

The way I read the Output1 statement is that you can't JUST have a speaker on output1, you must also have a siren/bell on output 2. But I am no expert.

The residential UL listing is for Burglar and Fire.

Home automation is not part of the residential burglar and fire UL listing.

Most electrical inspectors are looking for the UL label on the control's metal enclosure to show that it has passed the UL Laboratories testing and manufacturing quality control inspections. They are not doing a UL installation inspection for residential burglar and fire.

The manuals are written so that a professional UL installer could install a residential UL Burglar and Fire system according to very strict guidelines.

Many commercial installations are UL certificated like jewelry stores, but hardly any residential systems.

Spanky,

So it's OK to use speakers and still have a valid UL Fire system? What about the bell?

Thanks,
Jon

[EDIT: I missed the last part of your post - thanks for answering my questions!]

Jonr,