HA Networking

2parts

I am trying to get a handle on how all this HA stuff works, so please bear with me as I am completely new to this.

I was reading the chat session you guys had with David of ELK M1. And was wondering how all these components worked together.

So here it goes please correct me when needed. The ELK M1 Keypads are connected to lighting , security and thermostats, for instance, of a particular area/zone of a home. Then these are connected to the ELK M1 control panel via ethernet of some other cable medium. After this, the ELK M1 contol panel is then given instructions/managed via software run on a computer like Meddio?

And walaa you can control your home from a computer!! Ok well prob not that easy..

Thanks for the help..

Welcome to the board not many people on this late.

Your abit off but Ill be glad to help.

The m1 is what is connected to everything the keypads wire back to the m1.

Most would go with Homeseer with the m1 plugin (I just bought this tonight).

There is a link to download the manual for the Elk on the chat without having to login. If you can't find it pm me your email I'll send you one.

After reading the manual you'll have a much better idea of what it can do.

Also goto Homeseer.com
From there you can you can browse the message board and they have a forum for ELK

I maybe wrong but don't think Medio can connect to m1?

ANyways this will give you some food for thought.

Hey 2parts,

I know this is a bit OT, but, do you already use Meedio?

I was thinking that if you used HS as the intermediate, you could have Meedio send HS commands, which then get passed on the the M1.

I do something similiar for my piece-meal set-up (no M1, though)...

No, at the moment I do not have anything in my home set-up through HA. Currently, I am trying to learn all I can so I can make an informed decision about what to purchase/use. I work alot with Media Center PC's and want to add some software to mine to help control the home.