Large gap security sensors

mdonovan

I'm using these sensors with my Elk:

http://www.amazon.com/MICRO-DOOR-WINDOW-SENSOR-WHITE/dp/B00070LZ4I

I have a couple doors that I can't get the 2 parts very close, and sometimes they don't recognize the door is closed. Is there any way to get maybe a stronger magnet to make up for the large gap?

I also have a couple sensors that keep losing supervision and I get a lost transmitter error on the keypads. I replaced the battery but they still keep doing it. Is it time to replace them?

Matt

The magnet isn't going to overcome a design/installation issue. Look for a different style magnet and locate closer.

Or fabricate a little bracket to get magnet to the designed spec gap tolerance. Do you know what the tolerance is on the gap?

I do have the gap information somewhere, although I'm not sure where it is. I can cut out the door trim on some of the doors, but I really wanted to avoid that. I'm still studying it to see what I can come up with. If all else fails I'll cut the trim.

Matt

I' recently installed two of those senors.  They are fairly forgiving with respect to gap size.  When I've had problems geting it to "sense" when the door is closed, it (as I recall) had to do with the correct alignment of the magnet to the sensor (I was trying to adjust them so that they sensed when the door was closed - but not so close that you could open the door enough to insert another magnet and defeat the sensor).  I achieved the greatest distance when  the arrow on the magnet aligned correctly to the sensitive part of the reed.  You may want to perform some separate tests.  Once I did this it worked.  .....But then I imagine you've already tried something similar.