Modulating a Channel

I'm new to channel modulation so I have a few questions. I'm including a diagram to describe what I have currently and what I am planning to do. This is a fairly simple modulation project. In room one, I have a PC and a satellite dish. They feed the local tv by a manual AV switch. I am currently taking the feed from the satellite and directing it back to a distribution closet, through a coupler to a tv in a second room. This is working fine.

Now what I would like to do is modulate a channel to send a feed from the PC to both tvs in both rooms. We only have satellite so I'm wondering if I will need any filters? I am looking at using a Channel Vision splitter/combiner to accomplish this. I only have RF in the second room. Does my planned diagram look right? Can I do this or am I missing something?

Thanks to all.

Attachments

• Cable_Distr.jpg
    Cable_Distr.jpg
    138.3 KB · Views: 59
Hmm... I don't think that will work. I don't believe the satellite input can be combined with the modulator output.

Looks like you essentially want to combine the Channel Vision modulator with the built-in channel 3 modulator in the sat box. You'd probably get better quality by using a single 2-channel modulator but if you only want to pay for a single-channel modulator I think you'd need to keep the input to the sat box the way it is now and combine the RF output from the modulator with the RF output from the sat box, and then feed that to the remote TV.

Your method is what I was originally looking at. However, I would like to eliminate the manual AV switch box. The TV only has one set of inputs.

I would use a two channel modulator to keep things simple. Also does your satellite receiver allow you to do both outputs at the same time?

Seems that DirectTv has taken away the RF output on the HDTV sets. What are box are you using?