New automation software ready for beta testing

johnnynine

I've been using the home automation software I created for several months now and thought it was time to release a beta to the public.

I originally wrote it to link my Vizia RF devices and Elk M1 systems together but it has grown quite a bit since then into a fully distributed network automation system with a graphical user interface viewer.

Here is a list of current drivers:
  • Generic Serial
  • Elk M1/M1 Gold (Serial & TCP/IP)
  • Vizia RF/Z-Wave
  • Date/Time Events
  • Timers
  • Global Variables
  • Weather
  • X10 MR26A receiver
  • X10 CM17A Firecracker transmitter
  • Desktop
  • USB-UIRT (in development)
  • NetCallerID
  • Caller ID Modem (with Contact support)
The X10 and NetCallerID drivers are untested. I would be very appreciative if someone with those devices could give them a try.

There currently is no simple tool to configure the devices and rules so I would be happy to configure anyones system for them. Those of you with some some technical knowledge of xml and programming languages shouldn't have any problem. There is a user friendly graphical user interface designer which does work but the interface viewer needs a few performance enhancements before I would consider using it full time.

The Generic Serial Driver can be used to control most serial devices that do not currently have a driver. This however does require writing some scripting code for those techies out there and I'd be happy to add drivers for any popular devices.

If you have any questions or would like any help with the configuration please let me know. You can use the support forum at http://johnnynine.com/forum

For more information, documentation and the download, please visit johnnynine.com

Previous alpha testing thread here.

Thanks,
Johnny

Version 0.4 is now available here.

This version includes the following enhancements:
  • Added Generic Network Driver.