Problem with x10 Wall Switch

H

homeseer

I just recently installed x10 wall/light switches. They function manually ok, but wont respond to remote commands. What am I doing wrong?

I assume you configured the house and unit code? Do you use transceivers? If so, try moving them to a different outlet, one close to the light switch itself. If the switches can be controlled once you find the right outlet, then you need a phase coupler. A house (in the US) has 2 110v legs, so if your light switches are on one leg, and your X10 transmitter is on the other, you would run into this problem.

Forgive me, as I am new to the x10 scene. All I did was install wall switches in place of the existing lighting switches. I set the code in the switch and pressed the appropriate button on the remote.

I am not certain what you mean by transceivers.

What exactly is a phase coupler.

How do I solve the problem of being on two seperate legs if this is indeed the problem.

Forgive my newby ignorance. I appreciate your help in advance.

homeseer:

Can you post some more details as to the exact parts you installed, the exact model of the remote and model of the transceiver?

homeseer said:
Forgive me, as I am new to the x10 scene. All I did was install wall switches in place of the existing lighting switches. I set the code in the switch and pressed the appropriate button on the remote.

How do I solve the problem of being on two seperate legs if this is indeed the problem.

homeseer, you need to do a bit of reading to get up to speed! :p

Here are some useful LINKS:Also, PLEASE list the Manufacturers and Model Numbers of all the X-10/HA equipment you bought and/or currently have in service.

homeseer said:
. . . All I did was install wall switches in place of the existing lighting switches. I set the code in the switch and pressed the appropriate button on the remote.
I am guessing that you have a missing an important component between those two components.