UPB Install - lock-up problems

geewiz

I need some help. I installed 13 UPB switches (CLSW-01 and hai 35A00-1, 35A00-3, and 1 phase coupler 39A00-1) and a few plug-in modules for lamps 3 weeks ago and everything seemed to be working as I had expected it would. Soon after my system has locked up on me to the point where I get no response from any switch and then all of the sudden every button press will execute minutes and sometimes an hour or so later. I read or was told on the phone in calling tech support that my lutron dimmers might be the cause of this. I have since waited to do the rest of my house with UPB.

Has anyone run into this or know of what I can do?

thanks,
Mike

Welcome to CocoonTech Mike!

I am not an UPB expert, but have you tried turning off the breakers to the circuits which have Lutron hardware, and see if you still have the same problem? This is assuming that you only have a few of those switches, or this might be harder to do. I am sure other people who have plenty of UPB experience will chime in soon.

Mike,

You say 'soon after', was that minutes, hours, days or the whole 3 weeks? How long was it working right for? Have you checked signal strength and noise levels in UPStart? Also in UPStart, what happens when you do a network verify - does it find all your switches or do you have yellow boxes flashing all over and then many black (missing) switches? Did you always have the phase coupler installed, or did you add that after? What PIM are you using? I have had a PCS and HAI switch along with a Lutron dimmer and didn't see any issues. I'm using all SAI US2s now though.

If it worked properly for a while and now all of the sudden it doesn't, something has had to change. Is it always bad now or intermittent? It could be noise - check the meters built into UPStart. But having it work after a delay that long doesn't make sense. I think UPB will only retry 5 times.

Is this standalone, or is it being controlled by SW or a panel?