UPB troubles

wdeertz

Ive been running a UPB network for the past 3+ years with no issues. My power is 3 phase and I have a PCS 3 phase repeater installed. I recently tried to make some changes from Upstart while plugged into phase B and I wasnt able to connect to the 3 phase repeater or any devices on phase C. I plugged my PIM into an outlet connected to phase c and Upstart showed all kinds of noise on the system. My HAI Omni Pro 2 is currently able to control all devices across phases a, b and c.

Im trying to diagnose the problem and believe the phase c has gone bad on the PIM. Given all devices are working properly with the OP2 leads me to believe the 3 phase repeater is working properly. Can any experts out there confirm if my logic appears solid before I order a new PIM. Is it common for only 1phase of a PIM to go bad while the other 2work properly?

So you use a different PIM for your HAI and PCAccess?  That's good.  I can't say I've ever used 3-phase. but your logic sounds correct. The only way your HAI could control everything is if your repeater was working.  Unlike 120/120, you pretty much have to have a repeater with 3-phase.  PIMs are pretty cheap so I would replace that first.  Get a PCS PIM if you can as those things are built like a rock (but a bit more expensive). If that doesn't work, then its the repeater.  Turn a switch ON or OFF on a phase DIFFERENT from the one where the Omni Pro 2 is connected, and see if the Omni Pro 2 can see it. If it can, the repeater is likely OK.  That wouldn't work if your repeater was bad.

Also, if you can, make sure you also have a 3-phase surge protector outside by your breaker box.  You really need that with UPB.

Here my primary aux UPB PIMs are HAI. 

I leave them on line connected to serial to network interfaces on the phases of my panel in different locations in the house.  IE: attic, 2nd floor and main floor.

I utilize a Windows server that I RPD to that runs Upstart and connects to the different UPB PIMs.