whole house audio /video

HI my name is Scott and i'm a newbie to your forums I have a directv tivo unit in my bedroom,and a directv regular reciever in the living room,also a suurround reciever;dvd,vcr,cd player.I have eight tv,s around my house that I would like to control my 2 directv recievers,dvd400disc juke box vcr.surround sound reciever,xbox360.From about 6 different zones.I was thinking about using modulators from crossbar media ,To get the sources to the different zones,and using a harmony remote to control it all. I would also like to stay up to date on the latest technolgy and control automation .I don't have unlimited funds to spend on the project thanks scott.

What type of wiring do you have throughout the rooms?

Modulating is certainly an option, although most folks nowadays choose to use hardware switchers like the Autopatch or Extron to route sources to zones, and either IR-RF remotes (ie my MX850) or cheap touchscreens (ie Fujitsu 3400 tablet PC for $160) combined with HomeTheaterAutomation software to control it.

The issue I personally had with using an MX850 only was that I couldn't tell what was currently playing/in use, and whether the stereo was on/etc. That's where I ended up using the 3400's. Check out the site in my sig for screenshots.

Ivb after I posted this I found your web site.Man you got one great setup!It's exactly what Im looking for.Right now I only want to do the ht part of your setup ,but would like to do the rest eventually.I have RG6 running dtv throughout my home.I have about 3000 wma files on my home hardrive and about 250 dvd's on my sony 400 jukebox.I see the trick thing to do is have a HTPC .Almost all of my audio video is in the living room by my main tv.

Just the one RG6?

How hard would it be to run more?

Any speaker wires distributed throughout your house?