Premise Extron IPLink

Motorola Premise

Jacob

Hello,
Has anyone here has any experience interfacing the Premise software with Extron's IPLink products? Here is a link: http://www.extron.com/product/listbytype.aspx?subtype=94

I currently have an IPL T SFI244 installed on my home theater. I have my panasonic plasma and marantz receiver attached to it with RS-232 and many other devices installed via IR.

Although it does much more than a conventional Lantronix RS-232/ethernet adaptor, i would think it would be perfect to interface premise with my home AV.

I have no experience writing drivers or even RS-232 commmands, but i am willing to learn to make this work. What is the best place to look to learn how to write drivers, etc for the premise software?

Thanks!
Jacob

Jacob, welcome to Cocoontech and the Premise Home Control forum!

Extron's IP Link looks like a very useful gadget and would make a nice addition to Premise's list of supported equipment. Let's see what we can do to get you writing a driver ...

Starting on page 4-16 of the SFI244's manual, it describes the device's control protocol. You can communicate via its telnet (port 23) or HTTP (port 80) interface. The command structure depends upon whether you use telnet or HTTP. In either case, the good news is that the IP Link's command protocol is text-based (i.e. not binary-encoded) and simplifies the task of creating a driver.

I posted a super-simple text-based driver here (Text_Listener.xdo) implemented as a Module (VBScript). It listens for incoming traffic on the PC's serial-port and dumps whatever it finds to the Windows Debug Console. You'll need DebugView to see the debug console. Experiment with it to gain a better understanding of how to setup communications for a driver.