Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Battery Test on M1G


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 21 June 2012 - 04:35 PM

I'm curious as to why when I do a battery test, or run only on battery power, the current draw drops.
My normal standby load is .550A and when I'm on battery power it drops to .270A.

Can someone explain this to me?

Just realized something... could the difference be how much current the battery charger is using for the trickle charge?

Edited by video321, 21 June 2012 - 04:43 PM.


#2 Lou Apo

Lou Apo

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2614 posts
  • Location:Austin TX
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 22 June 2012 - 09:50 AM

Some drop will occur because of lower voltage. The battery runs at 12v and when plugged in it runs just under 14v.

How are you measuring the current draw?

#3 DELInstallations

DELInstallations

    Cocoonut

  • Professionals
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3300 posts
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:CaddX, DSC, Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, C-Bus, 1-Wire, RadioRA, RadioRA2, Crestron, AMX, Custom, CentraLite, Control4
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr

Posted 22 June 2012 - 05:23 PM

I'd wager to say the ammeter on the M1 isn't factoring in the lack of draw from the rectifier when running on DC only vs AC/DC.

#4 video321

video321

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Mi Casa Verde Vera
  • Tech:Z-Wave
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:analog, dvr
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 23 June 2012 - 10:59 AM

How are you measuring the current draw?

I'm getting the measurement from the keypad. My normal voltage is 13.9 and the initial battery voltage is around 13.1

#5 Lou Apo

Lou Apo

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2614 posts
  • Location:Austin TX
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Windows Media Center
  • CCTV:analog, dvr

Posted 23 June 2012 - 09:01 PM

I'm getting the measurement from the keypad. My normal voltage is 13.9 and the initial battery voltage is around 13.1


The voltage drop will cause roughly 6% drop in amps. I don't know if the amp measurement at the keypad includes the amps going to charge the battery, but if it does, that will fall out when you switch to battery (as you pointed out).

You could always try manually measuring the amps and see what happens with that.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users