Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

OPII X10 port pinout


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 whumphrey

whumphrey

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 23 October 2014 - 11:17 PM

I have an OPII board and recently picked up a used X10 power line interface.   I need to make a cable to go from the OPII RJ25 to the X10 interface RJ11.

 

Can anyone point me towards a pinout for the two ends of this cable.   I cannot find anyting in the OPII instllation manual about the X10 port.  Where is this hidden?

Thanks.



#2 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10785 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 October 2014 - 05:57 AM

Thinking that the RJ-12 that is used on the OPII was configured as:

 

Pin Signal Description

1 DCD Data Carrier Detect (IN)
2 RXD Receive Data (IN)
3 DTR/RTS Data Terminal Ready/ Request To Send (OUT)
4 GND Ground
5 TXD Transmit Data (OUT)
6 CTS Receive Hardware Flow Control

 

The X-10 port uses only 4 pins

 

DB9 -> RJ-11 
5 -> 1
3 -> 3
2 -> 4

 

Has to be a TW-523 X10 controller.  I have never seen a 25 pin serial connector on a OPII panel.



#3 whumphrey

whumphrey

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 24 October 2014 - 11:24 AM

Hmmm.  I actually have the PSC04 one way X-10 power line interface.   Will the PCS04 work with OPII?

I've seen somewhere on internet that this RJ-11 pinout is:

 

1)  Zero Crossing Detect

2)  Ground

3)  Ground

4)  Data

 

How do OPII RJ-12 pins match up with RJ-11?

 

RJ-12 -> RJ-11

? -> 1

4 -> 2 or 3

2 -> 4



#4 BLH

BLH

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 798 posts
  • Location:South East CT.
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, INSTEON

Posted 24 October 2014 - 11:58 AM

The PSC04 is not a serial connection.

If the panel is using RS232 the PSC04 is not going to work.



#5 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10785 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 October 2014 - 08:40 PM

The PSC05 would work for you.

 

I used to utilize a TW-523 many years ago.  I then went to Jeff Volp's XTB X-10 amplifier.  Recently went to Jeff Volp's dual phase TW-523 device.

 

Attached File  TW-523.jpg   179.87K   11 downloads



#6 whumphrey

whumphrey

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 24 October 2014 - 09:13 PM

Seriously? So what is the PSC04 intended to connect to?

#7 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10785 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 October 2014 - 09:23 PM

PSC04 is X-10; one way transmitter interface.  I have not read anything about connecting a PSC04 to the OPII.

 

I have read where folks have connected a PSC05 to the OPII.

 

PSC04, PSC05, PL513, and TW523 Technical Notes



#8 BLH

BLH

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 798 posts
  • Location:South East CT.
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:ISY-99
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, INSTEON

Posted 25 October 2014 - 05:03 AM

I have one of Jeff's XTB-IIR coupler repeaters. Blasts a power line signal all over my home.

It also does not misread Insteon signals and corrupt them.



#9 whumphrey

whumphrey

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 25 October 2014 - 08:42 AM

Ok. But does anyone know the purpose of a one-way pcs04? Wondering if I can find some other use for it.

#10 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10785 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 25 October 2014 - 09:27 AM

Personally no; here have been using X-10 since the late 70's and never purchased one of those.  I do have a very old collection of Windows 3.0/3.1, Windows 95/98 automation to X10 stuff; will look there to see if any of it connects to a PCS04; might be there?

 

Intially started using the OmniPro II with a TW-523 on one phase controlling my then newly upgraded X10 to Insteon switches controlling X10 with the OPII and Insteon with software.  I started then to migrate over to UPB having totally converted all of my in wall switches to UPB.

 

Concurrently way back plugged my HAI OPII TW-523 into Jeff Volp's XTB booster which gave it a new life.  I recently updated that TW-523 to Jeff Volp's dual phased TW-523 emulator / amplifier.  Works great.  I use it for my Christmas lighting today.

 

It is nice to use an old X-10 Palm pad; push one button on and see all of the lights go on in a timely and fast manner.  No work involved as the house code and numbers are all the same. Easy peasy stuff.

 

Today the HAI OPII board serial outs go to UPB, X-10 and Z-Wave.  Other users are also utilizing Zigbee. 



#11 whumphrey

whumphrey

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB

Posted 26 October 2014 - 10:20 PM

Thanks all for the responses.    Should have done my homework before buying this.   I have all UPB in my house now but found a few old X10 lamp modules in a box (from a house about 15 years ago) and was looking for a cheap way to use them.   

-Warren






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users