Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Z-Wave Keypad


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7461 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 11:25 AM

I'm on the hunt for a Z-Wave keypad.  I need a keypad that can send to my HomeSeer ZTroller arm, disarm, home, away (arm modes) and bonus if you can disarm via a small fob mounted on a key-ring.

 

I found this Zipato Keypad, but the only post I found on HomeSeer's site doesn't give me confidence it works with that software.

 

Has anyone found success with such a Z-Wave product?



#2 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 9525 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 10 February 2019 - 01:00 PM

Comcast uses Zigbee for their alarm keypads and FOBs.

 

Attached File  zigbee.jpg   100K   9 downloads

 

You could utilize the MCS Zigbee USB controller and integrate this to Homeseer with mcsMQTT?

 

 



#3 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7461 posts

Posted 10 February 2019 - 01:21 PM

Thanks Pete.  Great ides but i would rather not use MQTT and Zigbee.  The HomeTroller recognizes Z-Wave natively and I just need those four occurrences recognized by HomeSeer.



#4 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 9525 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 10 February 2019 - 01:39 PM

Well then maybe bugging HST to support said device might work. 

 

I see the original posts go back to 2015 and there are probably more folks interested in this.



#5 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, RadioRA2
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 10 February 2019 - 04:58 PM

If you can fine one of the Iris ones, they look to be pretty configurable - I haven’t personally used one, but saw a video demonstrating one and I was impressed by how much you could program it to do.

#6 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 9525 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 10 February 2019 - 10:48 PM

Attached the manual for the Iris security pad here.

 

Note:

 

compatibility

 

The Lowe’s IRIS Keypad is fully ZigBee HA 1.2 certified and will work with other open ZigBee HA 1.2-certified systems.

 

Attached File  Irissecuritypad.pdf   243.69K   2 downloads

 

There are new Iris Security kits on Ebay for less than $100 right now.



#7 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7461 posts

Posted 11 February 2019 - 07:58 AM

Good ideas, but I would have to spend $100 on a keypad, plus get a Zigbee interface (and configure that) and hope that HomeSeer can 'see' the unit and all of its settings.



#8 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3896 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, POTS

Posted 11 February 2019 - 08:54 AM

Curious why you need a security keypad for this? Couldn't you use any buttons that Homeseer recognizes, X-10, Insteon, Lutron Pico, etc., and then do whatever translation is required in Homeseer events?



#9 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, RadioRA2
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:23 PM

Sorry - I was posting from my phone; I hadn't looked up the keypad specs - I just assumed the Iris one was Z-Wave since I knew it worked with Iris and SmartThings.

#10 lanbrown

lanbrown

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Software:Indigo
  • Hardware:CaddX
  • Tech:Z-Wave

Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:36 PM

https://community.ir...tdown/td-p/6450

 

 
Important Update about Iris Shutdown.
 

Dear Iris customer,

 

As a valued customer, we wanted to provide an important update regarding Iris. We have decided to shut down the Iris smart home platform and related services effective March 31, 2019. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and are committed to providing the resources and support needed as you transition to comparable smart home products.

 

This email provides important information on the process and resources available for Iris customers. Please do not bring your connected Iris devices back to a Lowe’s store.

 

  • We have created an online redemption process that will allow customers who have eligible, connected Iris devices to receive a Visa prepaid card to help migrate to another smart home platform.
  • Upon logging into Iris, you will be directed to complete the redemption process using a customized, online tool. You will also be able to access additional information, such as redemption status and support articles.
  • All Iris customers need to complete the redemption process through the Iris app or at https://home.irisbyl....com/redemption by March 31, 2019.
  • The online process is the only way you can receive a redemption for your already connected Iris items. Please do not bring connected items back to the store.
  • Customers can return any Iris items they have purchased within the last 90 days that are not connected to the Iris platform via Lowe’s normal return policy (see your Lowe’s receipt for Lowe’s Return Policy details).
  • Some customers may find the redemption value exceeds the amount owed via Lowe’s Return Policy.
  • Many devices used with Iris are compatible with other smart home platforms. For example, SmartThings is a comparable platform to Iris, and to ease the transition, SmartThings’ support team is ready to assist you with the migration process.
  • Some devices incompatible with other smart home platforms are eligible for redemption.

Again, we are committed to supporting a smooth transition for our Iris customers throughout this process. We appreciate your business and hope you continue to choose Lowe’s for your future smart home and home improvement needs.



#11 myyaz33

myyaz33

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted 11 February 2019 - 10:19 PM

What about a Remotec ZRC-90?  It is meant for more custom use whereas the Zipato one seemed to be design for exactly what you wanted.  I know the Remotec works with Homeseer.

 

https://www.amazon.c...7/dp/B016YTTIVW

 

There is also the Aeotec WallMote that may work for your needs.



#12 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7461 posts

Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:19 AM

What about a Remotec ZRC-90?  It is meant for more custom use whereas the Zipato one seemed to be design for exactly what you wanted.  I know the Remotec works with Homeseer.
 
https://www.amazon.c...7/dp/B016YTTIVW
 
There is also the Aeotec WallMote that may work for your needs.

Interesting.  I'm going to buy one and see how this will work.  I can always label the buttons to their function and have it look like a Zipato.  Knowing this works with HomeSeer is a plus also.
 
Thanks for this suggestion!

As for the Aeotec, I find their products lack technical maturity. Have you had good luck with them?

Edited by BraveSirRobbin, 12 February 2019 - 08:32 AM.


#13 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7461 posts

Posted 12 February 2019 - 08:38 AM

The Remotec's were not readily available, so I'm taking a chance and ordering two of the Aeotec WallMotes (Amazon Prime delivery)

 

I can always return them via Amazon.



#14 myyaz33

myyaz33

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted 12 February 2019 - 07:20 PM

I bought my Remotec from Zwaveproducts.com actually.  That site is a great place to find TONS of zwave products. I took a look at the site again and found way more devices available than i expected.  Sorry, it may be too late, as you already ordered. 

 

https://www.zwavepro...ene-controllers



#15 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7461 posts

Posted 18 February 2019 - 09:26 AM

I wound up getting the Aeotec units.  If they don't wind up working, I'll get the Remotec.  thanks for this find.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users