Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

What happened to UPB!?!?


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 zinger084

zinger084

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 01 November 2019 - 07:23 PM

Hi all,

I havent bought a switch in a year or so and usually buy the Leviton series UPBs.

Luck would have it I get online to pick a few up and theyre nowhere to be found.

Can someone fill me in?

Need some UPBs for my Leviton HAI Omni Pro IIe controller....

Thanks!

#2 upstatemike

upstatemike

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4006 posts
  • Location:CNY
  • Experience:novice
  • Hardware:Elk M1, HomeTroller, ISY-99, StarGate
  • Tech:INSTEON
  • Audio:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:OBi100/110, POTS

Posted 01 November 2019 - 10:15 PM

Would anything here work for you?
 
https://www.homecont...liance-controls

https://www.ebay.com...HQaAvO8EALw_wcB

Edited by upstatemike, 01 November 2019 - 10:17 PM.


#3 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10016 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 02 November 2019 - 08:11 AM

Did a quickie search here and found them at Home Depot and Amazon.

 

Home Depot:

 

600-Watt HLC UPB Dimmer Switch, White  $97.85

 

Amazon has Leviton, SA and PCS UPB switches.



#4 ASIHome

ASIHome

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 526 posts

Posted 04 November 2019 - 10:44 AM

With the latest version of UpStart from PCS, you can program PCS devices as HLC devices as well as converting PCS devices to HLC devices. PCS is also selling a dimmer and keypad that are directly HLC compatible.



#5 Trumpetr

Trumpetr

    Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Galena, OH
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, Z-Wave
  • Audio:Sonos
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 14 November 2019 - 10:29 PM

I have several that I pulled from my home that I was moving out. What are you looking for and make me an offer. Matt

#6 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4954 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, RadioRA2
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 20 November 2019 - 04:16 PM

I still believe UPB was the far better protocol over Z-Wave once dialed in.  So much more flexible, and mine was always extremely reliable.  However, Z-Wave seemed to take the lead in the market.  The death knell for UPB was the fact that it never made it into the big box stores, and it never found a way to bridge the gap with the cloud-based systems.  Just a little gateway like the RadioRA2 one probably could've saved it - but whoever is running things just never got there (maybe because Z-Wave is an alliance, whereas UPB is wholly owned by Pulseworx?). 

 

Oh well... I moved on to RRa2 because it seems like the only professional solution left that I could leave in my home when I sell it and call it a selling point.  It's not as flexible, but the fit and finish is excellent and it's widely supported by professionals.

 

That's my rant... I wish UPB had done better because I really liked it.



#7 damage

damage

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1175 posts
  • Twitter:@doghouselabs
  • Location:silicon valley, ca
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:TimeCommander+, Custom
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL
  • Audio:Squeezebox
  • Video:SageTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, Linksys PAP2, OBi100/110

Posted 23 November 2019 - 01:46 PM

I still believe UPB was the far better protocol over Z-Wave once dialed in.  So much more flexible, and mine was always extremely reliable.  However, Z-Wave seemed to take the lead in the market.  The death knell for UPB was the fact that it never made it into the big box stores

 

the hal branded ones managed to make it into fry's, but not for long ( http://cocoontech.co...-items-on-sale/ ). i still have about 50 of those modules unopened...oops  :blush:



#8 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3598 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 24 November 2019 - 01:14 AM

I remember many years ago when Simply Automated had the bright idea to sell a "consumer" version of its "professional" UPB switches on Frys, but at 1/3 the cost.  They were 99% the same switch but with a different model number.  Unfortunately this didn't go over well with professionals, but I bought a bunch of them when Frys sold them even cheaper at clearance prices.



#9 BraveSirRobbin

BraveSirRobbin

    Cocoonut

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7499 posts

Posted 24 November 2019 - 08:53 AM

I remember many years ago when Simply Automated had the bright idea to sell a "consumer" version of its "professional" UPB switches on Frys, but at 1/3 the cost.  They were 99% the same switch but with a different model number.  Unfortunately this didn't go over well with professionals, but I bought a bunch of them when Frys sold them even cheaper at clearance prices.

I remember that as well.  Speaking of Fry's, I was at their Las Vegas store recently and it looked like they have about half of the merchandise I was used to seeing.  NO motherboards out for display, nothing on sale, no 'this week's sales' posted on their front bulletin board...I predict they will be out of business before summer.



#10 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10016 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 November 2019 - 11:42 AM

Here have never stopped stocking up on UPB switches BUT have not had any UPB switch fail me to date (years now).



#11 Work2Play

Work2Play

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 4954 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Elve
  • Hardware:Elk M1, RUC-01
  • Tech:X10-RF, UPB, RadioRA2
  • Audio:AirPlay
  • Video:XBMC
  • CCTV:ip, dvr
  • Phone:3CX, Asterisk, FreePBX, Grandstream, Ooma

Posted 24 November 2019 - 11:43 AM

I too remember that but I only found a few appliance modules.  Too bad about Fry's though - I haven't been to one in about 3 years since I moved to Colorado Springs.  Their employees weren't that helpful, but at least they had a great selection.

 

I have a bunch of UPB parts laying around - I'll have to consolidate them and list them here. 



#12 samgreco

samgreco

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 676 posts
  • Location:Villa Park, IL
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Tech:UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom

Posted 24 November 2019 - 01:18 PM

I bought a whole bunch of the Fry's/HAL UPB devices both before and after they went on closeout.  Still using most of it.

 

And the Fry's here is Chicago is a ghost town as well.  Here it is less than a week to Black Friday and the place has less than half of it's space filled.  Big rows of empty space.  And now hearing about the Vegas store, I wonder if the whole thing is coming down.



#13 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3598 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 24 November 2019 - 03:55 PM

Could it be they are just saving space for the Black Friday items?



#14 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10016 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 November 2019 - 07:57 PM

Before Frys had their Chicago store I would shop at the Fry's near Denver.  Toyland. 

 

From Venturebeat web site on September 10, 2019


Why Fry’s Electronics hasn’t been restocking goods in multiple stores
Dean [email protected]    September 10, 2019 2:30 PM

Fry’s Electronics recently acknowledged it would shut its store in Palo Alto, California, in January because its lease wasn’t renewed. But stores in other places are running out of goods and don’t appear to be restocking them. It seems like another sign of the retail apocalypse.

But a Fry’s spokesman said any rumor of impending shutdowns isn’t true.

I visited a Fry’s store in Campbell, California, last week during midday, and the shelves looked quite bare, as you can see in the photos. Other consumers have reported near-empty shelves in stores in Sunnyvale, Sacramento, Burbank, Roseville, and Concord in California, as well as Las Vegas; Renton, Washington; and Austin, Texas.

It certainly looks like competition with Amazon is taking its toll on physical stores like San Jose, California-based Fry’s, which has been an institution in Silicon Valley. Fry’s outlived other chains like Radio Shack, CompUSA, Circuit City, and numerous others. There are rumors that Fry’s will shut down its stores.

But the company says that isn’t true. Manuel Valerio, spokesman for Fry’s, said in an email:

    We are in the process of re-ordering product and restocking shelves. More product in all stores in next few weeks. Fry’s is not liquidating. And products ordered online are now shipped to customers directly from their local stores.

    Fry’s is not going out of business or closing any stores (except Palo Alto, California in January 2020, due to lease expired). No plans to close any other stores.


As to the shortage of goods in the stores, Valerio said, “We’re responding to the competitive retail market, and are working to deliver popular, in-demand products to our customers in a timely manner. Thus restructuring our inventory and staffing adjustments in order to be agile and prepared for upcoming holiday shopping.”

Fry’s started out as a supermarket chain in California. The Fry family started its first electronics store in 1985 in Sunnyvale, California. The chain grew to dozens of big-box electronics retail stores over the ensuing decades. Each store had a unique theme, and they were huge. You could buy everything from potato chips to computer chips at Fry’s Electronics. Around 2014, Fry’s had 34 stores nationwide.

In days gone by, I spent a lot of time looking through the hundreds of magazines in the huge racks at Fry’s. It’s sad to see these stores with nearly empty aisles and so few customers.

 

I’m waiting for a more convincing explanation from Fry’s about the bare shelves. Whatever the reason — from goods that are more expensive because of tariffs to other financial problems — it doesn’t look good.



#15 samgreco

samgreco

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 676 posts
  • Location:Villa Park, IL
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Premise
  • Tech:UPB, Z-Wave, ZigBee
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom

Posted 24 November 2019 - 08:52 PM

Honestly, it all rings of BS.  If you're a retail store, by now, days before Black Friday, your shelves should be over flowing.  I was in the Fry's Chicago store a few days ago and I could swear I saw tumbleweeds.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users