Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Gosund WiFi dimmer replacing firmware


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#16 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10362 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 21 August 2020 - 06:00 PM

Thank you Dave.

 

I like your web site and automation product.

 

I still utilize power line X10 and UPB here.  Just starting to tinker with MQTT lately (well a couple of years now).

 

I just copied and pasted your script to a Gosund Dimmer switch.



#17 Mehrdadg

Mehrdadg

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 October 2020 - 04:07 PM

Hi all

many thanks for very helpful instructions...

I recently purchased these dimmers and I was able to successfully install Tasmota using the instructions (yes installed the scripting version) but I am having very strange reboots, sudden shutdown, incorrect dimmer range, etc to say the least. I have followed every instruction carefully, played with the off variable but for the life of me I can't figure out why I can't get these dimmers to work properly with Tasmota.  I also followed set of instructions by DigiblirDIY and still having issues

 

Wondering if others are having the same issue? also any help is greatly appreciated..

 

Many thanks in advance,

Mehrdad

 



#18 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10362 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 28 October 2020 - 07:45 PM

Welcome to the forum @Mehrdad.

 

Here have not had issues with the GoSund dimmers or switches.  I have Tasmota installed on the GoSund dimmers and Espurna install on the Gosund wall switches.

 

I am using MQTT to manage the switches with Homeseer / Home Assistant (Docker) in Ubuntu 18.04.

 

Main combo test box is running on a BeeLink BT3 pro with 4Gb of RAM.  Running an Oracle 7E virtual box on same box for SAPI voices. 

 

Using MS SAPI and Alexa TTS these days.

 

Today install a Tasmota monitoring utility plugin on Home Assistant.  On Homeseer using a network control and monitoring utility for my Espurna / Tasmota devices.

 

Switched here from Ubiquiti AP's to Ruckus last year.

 

It could be that there are issues with the scripting version BIN posted.  I am using one that came from Tasmota DEV site and it is different than the one posted on the Tasmota repositories.

 

Give the one attached to this post.

 

hxxps://forums.homeseer.com/forum/homeseer-products-services/general-discussion-area/1428715-gosund-wifi-dimmers-esp8266-based-any-experience-out-there?p=1429330#post1429330



#19 risquare

risquare

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 October 2020 - 05:33 PM

I'm also trying to make this work. I've done everything as recommended here, using the latest script by Dave published here.

Tasmota GUI does control the light, MQTT does as well. However one big problem for me is that the manual control of the dimmer doesn't work.

It's just one repeatable problem. Light turns off as soon as I remove my finger from the slider. 

Manual on/off by button push does work.

Manual slider up/down does work until I remove the finger, at which moment it turns off.

Played with the 0x7f setting as advised. It changes the sensitivity of the slider at the Tasmota GUI but doesn't resolve my problem.

Looked at the console log and noticed this

 

23:13:54 var not found: Dimmer

 

Is it possible that something is missing in the script?

 

Also here is the log showing manual slide up and down and the release that turns the light off (unwanted) instead of keeping the  level reached by slider.

 

 

23:30:01 var not found: Dimmer
23:30:01 Script: performs "SerialSend5 80"
23:30:01 MQT: stat/Dimmer1/RESULT = {"SerialSend":"Done"}
23:30:01 MQT: stat/Dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"ON"}
23:30:01 MQT: stat/Dimmer1/POWER = ON
23:30:10 MQT: tele/Dimmer1/RESULT = {"SerialReceived":"2401011E232404011E232406011E232406011E232406011E232407011E232407011E232407011E232407011E232407011E232408011E232408011E232408011E232408011E232409011E232409011E23240A011E23240E011E232417011E232420011E232426011E232426011E232427011E232427011E232428011E232428011E23242C011E232431011E232436011E23243A011E23243A011E23243A011E23243E011E232443011E23244A011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244E011E23244D011E23244C011E23244C011E23244C011E23244B011E23244A011E23244A011E23244A011E232449011E232447011E232445011E232443011E232442011E23243F011E23243E011E23243C011E23243C011E23243C011E23243C011E2 ...
23:30:10 Script: performs "dimmer 0"
23:30:10 MQT: stat/Dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"OFF","Dimmer":0}
23:30:10  Scaled brightness is 7f
23:30:10 Script: performs "SerialSend5 7f"
23:30:10 MQT: stat/Dimmer1/RESULT = {"SerialSend":"Done"}
23:30:10 Script: performs "Serialsend5 00"
23:30:10 MQT: stat/Dimmer1/RESULT = {"SerialSend":"Done"}


#20 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10362 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 31 October 2020 - 04:26 PM

I manually tested sliding the touch dimmer on the GoSund switch up and down. 

 

LED stayed on going down to one LED tab and removing finger.  I tested various levels of dimming.

 

The switches are controlling newer style dimmable LED lamps.

 

Not sure if this has anything to do with the dimming.

 

These are the lamps I used for the outside coach lamps purchased on Amazon.  This also work well with my UPB switches.

 

Philips LED Dimmable B11 Clear Candle Light Bulb: 300-Lumen, 2700-Kelvin, 4.5-Watt (40-Watt Equivalent), E26 Base, Soft White, 12-Pack

#21 risquare

risquare

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 November 2020 - 02:56 PM

No. The bulb shouldn't be a problem as it works perfectly with the same dimmer when I dim using Tasmota GUI.



#22 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10362 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 01 November 2020 - 04:54 PM

So the problem is that when you are sliding your finger down the touch bar and lift you finger the light shuts off along with all of the LEDs?

 

Here went back to using the original script posted with the template.



#23 gbg108

gbg108

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 November 2020 - 06:21 PM

I tried the scripting solution for my Gosund SW2 and it worked pretty well. Thanks for putting that together. 

 

But I was still getting some flaky behavior when using the touch panel due to the 47 character limitation on serial data mentioned earlier. It was bothering me so I looked into fixing it which eventually I decided to just skip the script and do a driver directly. I'm new to Tasmota so I doubt I hooked things up "correctly" enough for a pull request, but it's working fine for me and I figured I'd post it here in case anyone else isn't fully happy with the scripting solution.

https://github.com/g.../v9.0.0.3_GS1.0

Process is the same as any other versions -

  1. Load it (probably need to load the minimal FW first due to the size)

  2. Reset settings with 'reset 6'

  3. In configurations select 'Gosund Dimmer (76)"



#24 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10362 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 02 November 2020 - 06:39 PM

Welcome to the Cocoontech Forum @gbg108.
 
Thank you.
 
Do I still need implement the GoSund dimmer template posted on the blakadder template website?
 
{"NAME":"Gosund Dimmer","GPIO":[255,148,255,149,17,0,255,255,56,158,37,255,255],"FLAG":0,"BASE":18}

#25 C4Junkie

C4Junkie

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 November 2020 - 01:45 AM

I tried the scripting solution for my Gosund SW2 and it worked pretty well. Thanks for putting that together. 

 

But I was still getting some flaky behavior when using the touch panel due to the 47 character limitation on serial data mentioned earlier. It was bothering me so I looked into fixing it which eventually I decided to just skip the script and do a driver directly. I'm new to Tasmota so I doubt I hooked things up "correctly" enough for a pull request, but it's working fine for me and I figured I'd post it here in case anyone else isn't fully happy with the scripting solution.

https://github.com/g.../v9.0.0.3_GS1.0

Process is the same as any other versions -

  1. Load it (probably need to load the minimal FW first due to the size)

  2. Reset settings with 'reset 6'

  3. In configurations select 'Gosund Dimmer (76)"

Thank you for adding support for the Gosund dimmers at a lower level. I was having issues with the scripting,

where I could use operate the dimmer from the web ui, but whenever I operated from the touch panel Tasmota would crash and the device would restart.

 

The new firmware prevents crashes (I haven't had one yet), but I am still experiencing problems. I can control the on/off and

brightness level from the web. But when I change the brightness from the touch panel the brightness in Tasmota doesn't update.

 

Pressing the physical on/off button will send:

07:32:51 MQT: stat/dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"ON"}
07:32:51 MQT: stat/dimmer1/POWER = ON
07:32:52 MQT: stat/dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"OFF"}
07:32:52 MQT: stat/dimmer1/POWER = OFF
 
Operating the physical touch sensor will send nothing.
The light still changes brightness and the indicator lights change too,
but the brightness does not match the slider in the web UI.
 
Operating the slider in the web UI will send:
07:25:20 MQT: stat/dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"ON","Dimmer":11}
07:25:21 MQT: stat/dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"ON","Dimmer":42}
07:25:22 MQT: stat/dimmer1/RESULT = {"POWER":"ON","Dimmer":90}
(expected operation)


#26 Mehrdadg

Mehrdadg

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 November 2020 - 07:42 AM

Hi gbg108

Many thanks for your contribution. I just upgraded my Gosund FW to your version and everything seems to be working!

One minor observations is that when the dimmer is switched off, the highest slider LED turns on and I think the proper behavior should be a single LED showing the last dimmer value before turning off.

once again, great work and many thanks!  



#27 gbg108

gbg108

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 November 2020 - 07:02 PM

@pete_c,

 

No need to enter the template. It's baked in when you select the Gosund Dimmer.

 

@c4junkie, @Mehrdadg,

 

Thanks for the feedback. I believe I've addressed both the issues you've pointed out in v1.1. Please give it a shot and let me know if there's still an issue

 

https://github.com/g.../v9.0.0.3_GS1.1



#28 pete_c

pete_c

    Cocoonut

  • -=Gold Supporter=-
  • 10362 posts
  • Location:House
  • Experience:guru
  • Software:Main Lobby, Open Source Automation
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II, Mi Casa Verde Vera, Ocelot
  • Tech:X10-PLC, X10-RF, UPB, INSTEON, Z-Wave, ZigBee, 1-Wire, xAP, xPL, ALC
  • Audio:Russound
  • Video:MythTV
  • CCTV:analog, ip, dvr
  • Phone:Asterisk, FreePBX, Ooma, POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 03 November 2020 - 07:54 PM

Thank you @gbg108

 

Updated to v1.1.

 

Program Version 9.0.0.3(tasmota)

Build Date & Time 2020-11-03T13:29:34
Core/SDK Version 2_7_4_5/2.2.2-dev(38a443e)


#29 Mehrdadg

Mehrdadg

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 November 2020 - 07:43 PM

thank you @pete_c...

I tired v1.1 and it fixed the led indicator issue previously reported. Not sure if you also experience the same but it looks like if you change the dimmer value from the unit, the web page does not reflect this change (I only see on/off working properly).

Also is there a way to lower the dimmer range? with the current low settings, it is still too bright for the bulbs I have hooked up to this dimmer. I tried the dimmerrange setting but it looks like the lowest value is already 0.

Any idea as how to change the dimmer pwm range?

 

by the way for some reason I can make a single post/day on this site and that is the reason for my late replies.

 

regards



#30 gbg108

gbg108

    Newbie

  • Registered
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 November 2020 - 01:48 AM

@Mehrdadg

 

 

by the way for some reason I can make a single post/day on this site and that is the reason for my late replies.

 

I have the same problem. Probably for spam prevention but it's the most ridiculous method I've seen.

 

 

Not sure if you also experience the same but it looks like if you change the dimmer value from the unit, the web page does not reflect this change (I only see on/off working properly).

 

Does this work for other dimmers? From what I can tell this seems like a problem with underlying code and not this Gosund driver. But I'm new to Tasmota so I might have missed something. If the slider is updating properly for other dimmers I'll take a look.

 

 

Also is there a way to lower the dimmer range?

 

I hooked something up to respect DimmerRange, give this version a try https://github.com/g.../v9.0.0.3_GS1.2

 

Be aware, it's not perfect...

 

The first problem is that since the touch pad works by changing the dimming level directly, Tasmota only witnesses this event. This means that if your minimum dimming range is set to 30, there is no way Tasmota can force the touch pad to respect this. The driver can only see that the touch pad has gone below 30 and correct it. The result is a loop between the touch pad setting the level to 10 and Tasmota setting it back to 30 until you go back into range or your finger comes off the touch pad. From your perspective you'll see this loop as the light flashing.

 

The second issue is that because the touch pad can't be force to use a smaller range (AFAIK) then we need the slider to also behave the same way and continue to use the full 0-100 range.  The result is that if you set your dimming range 30-60, then the only that section of the slider bar will actually adjust the dimming. Anything above or below this part of the slider won't impact the brightness. Not a big issue but not completely intuitive for the user.

 

So, if you're having trouble with a particular bulb, give this a shot and see if it's good enough for you. If not, you may be better off just getting a different bulb that can support the full range.


Edited by gbg108, 05 November 2020 - 09:10 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users