Premise Basic UPB Scheduling?

Motorola Premise

acalbear

I understand that SAI UPB devices are not currently supported in full but that some connectivity was made. At this point, I am looking for the simple ability for scheduled control of SAI links and/or devices (e.g. - activate link 23 at 11pm, etc.). Could the existing drivers allow this? I am looking into an ELK solution and know that an ELK driver is in the works but looking for a interim solution. I have all SAI devices including an SAI PIM and various switches.

Many thanks.

... looking for the simple ability for scheduled control of SAI links and/or devices (e.g. - activate link 23 at 11pm, etc.). Could the existing drivers allow this? ... know that an ELK driver is in the works but looking for a interim solution. ...

Disclaimer: I have no experience with UPB.

Short answer: Yes, it should work.

In Premise, you create a Schedule to control virtual objects (i.e. Home-level objects). For example, you add a generic Light to the Family Room, create a Schedule that turns that light on at sunset and off at 11:00 PM and you're done.

OK, nothing tangible has happened yet because you need to bind that light to a physical device and that's where the UPB Device Driver (or X10 or Insteon) comes into play. You bind (drag 'n drop) the virtual Family Room Light to a real UPB light revealed by the UPB driver. Whatever happens to the virtual object will now happen to the real device.

Why bother with this two-layer division of virtual and real objects? I'm glad you asked! :)
Your virtual Family Room Light and Schedule are independent of the lighting technology. Unbind the light from a UPB device and re-bind it to an Insteon device and everything continues to work as per the original Schedule.