M1XSLZW feedback

ddennerline

I just finished replacing my M1XSP/Z-Wave this week with M1XSLZW and wanted to provide some feedback to Cocooner’s. I have been using a M1XSP solution for more than two years.
  1. The documentation is very detailed and includes integrated instructions for Elk and Leviton Z-Wave systems. There are detailed example rules lights, thermostats, and locks.
  2. The M1XSLZW board has been redesigned. From what little I can tell, the RS-485 connectivity, baud rate jumpers, and general purpose jumpers have been eliminated. Integrating the VRC0P+3 was painless. I believe the Motorola 9s08 (http://www.datasheet...-datasheet.html) is the same on both boards.
  3. The M1XSLZW does a complete scan of Z-Wave network on startup, so you don’t have to walk around to light switches and toggle them in order to get the entire system system correct.
  4. You no longer have to use LumenLink to build groups and scenes into the VRC0P+3. The Leviton RF Toolkit now synchronizes all the “Areas” into VRC0P+3.
  5. I could control the front door Kwikset lock immediately. Having a close all locks function when armed stay/away rule provides some extra piece of mind (if you forgot). I did install a VRP03+3 plugin dimmer halfway between Elk VRC0P+3 and front door. It does in fact take 6 seconds to fully lock door as documentation indicates.
  6. Using Leviton RF Toolkit provides a much better experience than ControlThink as primary controller. It’s much easier to build, deploy, and troubleshoot network.
  7. Lock low-battery support notification. This is a nice to have feature. I only have one lock right now and the lock light is supposed to flash red when batteries need to be replaced. But if someone had a Z-Wave lock on infrequently used entrance this would be helpful.
  8. Multitude of lock, unlock, bolt failed notifications (I have not tested this feature yet).
  9. Support for Z-wave Scenes (I have not test this feature yet).