Pulse counter questions

Ira

I'm completely new to 1-wire, but I stumbled across the Hobby Board dual pulse counter and I'm wondering if it can do what I need.

I want to measure my home's water usage/flow. All water used in the home goes thru a water softener. The softener has a flow meter on it to tell it when it needs to regenerate (it regen's by water volume used instead of elapsed time). The flow meter has three wires between it and the softener electronic controller. According to the schematics, it has a red(+) lead, black(-) lead, and a green(S) lead. The electronics are powered by a 24Vac wall wart. I put a voltmeter across the red and black leads and it showed a constant 19.5Vdc. Voltage across the green and black leads was a constant 5.1Vdc when no water was flowing. With just a slight trickle of water flow (just enough to get the "flow LED" on the controller to flash), the voltage across the green and black leads varied between 5.1Vdc and almost zero (my cheap Exetech meter showed between zero and 6.0mVdc). According to the specs for the softener, the flow meter generates 133 pulses/gal. Maximum flow thru the softener is about 12 gal/min, so max pulses is about 25 pulses/sec.