Smokes for OmniPro II

gauntlet

Hi all,
First time posting. Occasional reader.

I want to install 4+ 4-wire smokes in my house and woodshop. I'm looking for suggestions on what models to use, and any additional items I may need to get things up and running.

My setup will be a expansion enclosure in my 1800 sq.ft wood shop (In a fairly non-dusty, protected corner in its metal enclosure) and probably running 2 smoke (or heat) sensors to each end of my shop. I try to keep the dust down, but I do have a fairly high air circulation when my 6.5hp dust collector is running (can turn over the air in less than 4 mins). 2 or more smoke detectors will be placed on the 2nd floor, above the shop. Since I don't have many detectors, I was planning on giving them each a zone, but it kinda sounds like there is some complication getting them all to alarm if they are. Any suggestions? I may add a CO detector in the equation too. I'm totally new to low voltage smoke/heat/CO detectors, and not really sure where to begin. Anything I might be missing? 

Thanks!

The easiest thing would be to connect all the smoke detectors to a single zone.  Putting them on separate zones makes things more complicated to get them all to sound together.  When there's a fire, the most important thing to do is get out immediately, not spend time searching for which detector went off.  You can figure that out later, and with a small number of detectors, it isn't going to take very long to walk around and spot which one is indicating the alarm.

I wouldn't put smoke detectors in the wood shop.  Even with a dust collector, it's still a dusty environment and that will cause problems, especially with photoelectric detectors.  Use heat detectors there instead.

A good brand of smoke detectors to consider is System Sensor.  They have a variety of smoke, Smoke/CO and heat detectors to choose from.

Check out this article of fire protection for a wood shop.