TTL Output Relay Board Help

cwb212001

Greetings,

I'm new at this and I appreciate any help you can offer.  I was having a hard time finding solid state relays with both NO & NC contacts and thought my problems were solved when I found these simple kits with conventional relays that could be activated by the WebControl TTL outputs.  It runs on its own 12vdc power source.  The description says that it has "easy one wire drive, high is on, low is off".  If you look at the relay board, there is 3 inputs: 12vdc in, ground & 'in' for activation.  Am I correct in thinking I need a ground reference for the 5vdc high from WebControl; I can't just run one wire from the WebControl output to the input of this relay board?  So, to give it a ground reference I would need to tie the WebControl's ouput ground (pin 9 or 10) to the ground of the relay board which is common with the relay board's power supply.  The kit supplier said this would work just fine.  Anyone see a problem with this?  Thanks again for any suggestions.

P.S. Forum rules won't let me post a link to the relay board or even a picture of it so if you want to take a look at what I have and what I am talking about please search on ebay for ...

K004 KIT - relay board simple to use 12v operation supports logic level also
ebay item number 321081645916

Forum admin,

Not trying to sell anything... this is the only way I know how to let the readers see what I have.  Thanks!

Well, we gotta watch the spam from first time posters here, but HERE is the link.   I don't see any problem with just referencing a ground from the digital outputs, as long as they can drive 3.3mA you should be fine and that they don't exceed the voltage logic level of that device (though be aware that I don't own a WebControl unit).   I'm guessing that board is just using the base of the transistor to trigger the relay's coil.

BTW, welcome to CocoonTech!

cwb212001 said: