Omni IIe + C3 Communicator

jeffmowens

Howdy, I'm an advanced hobbyist who has automated two homes with HAI products -- full wiring, installation, etc.. but I'm posted here because I've been "out of the circle" for awhile and was hoping to get some sound advice.

I just got an email from AT&T saying that my 2G SIM service was going to be terminated soon due to their network upgrades to 3G/4G -- which is unfortunate because the C3 only supports 2G service.

We really like the C3 because it allows the Omni to operate as per usual (integrating with the phone) and acts as a backup telephone service should the telco line get cut.

A year ago, I took an extra step and terminated our POTS telephone service completely since we use our mobile primarily and having it in the home was $47/m going out the window. Plus, the AT&T wireless SIM option in C3 offered all we needed for the system to have access to be called or make outbound calls -- for only $8/m.

We don't connect to a monitoring service -- the Omni is programmed to call several phone numbers (myself, neighbors, etc.) in lieu of a monitoring service.

In my research I can't find a replacement solution for the C3.

Can anyone offer any suggestions? 

Thanks!

Here still using a POTs line and DIY'd my secondary failover using 3G/LTE.  I know that the POTs line is going away here soon so now having to check on my alternatives.  Another post here looking at Ooma and a secondary line and reading issues now about over subscribing.  A few years back did pro bono install an OP2 (neighbor) and used her Comcast VOIP line for Alarm CO monitoring.  It worked fine for her. I did rewire here stuff to seize the phone line that she had configured.

Over the years tinkering with this stuff have purchased a few different devices that work for me.  Best is a 3rd party combination modem which does voice, data and SMS.  It is an older combo device made by Ericcson W25.

W25.jpg