Haiku HaikuHelper features and demo videos

DANNER

I'm in the process of a remodel and will have a HAI OmniPro II installed in the process. I'm excited to see to see HaikuHelper is becoming increasingly packed with features. It's pretty key for me to be able to control my automation system via a Mac (I work as a Software Engineer at Apple, so it would be pretty lame if I couldn't use the software I work on to control my home).

I've read a bit HaikuHelper on the Nullriver site, but I'd like to see more about it. I was hoping lupinglade could get some demo videos up on the site to see the product in action. I think it would give a much better impression than what I can read about. (For that matter, I've only seen a few videos of Haiku on youtube.)

I also curious about the differences in what HaikuHelper and PCAccess can do. From my very little understanding of this, it seems PCAccess allows for a lot more control and programming of the HAI system, but HaikuHelper seems to be able to do some of this as well.

Hi Danner - I'll take a stab at clearing some of this up for you...

First, to define PC Access, that is the HAI tool to PROGRAM your system. It is available in both End USer and Dealer versions. You can see the differences at the link. I am guessing since you are a technical person that you want to be more involved with your system (as a DIY) rather than just having a Pro install and support it. If that is the case you will need the Dealer version of the software so you have full access to all the programming. This includes all the security settings, automation logic, etc. So this is required to setup any panel for use, it is not intended for CONTROL per se.