Newbie Help with Input Status

ccthbsh01

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the CAI WebControl Board though I have been following this forum for a long while.

One of my goals that I am working on is to use the board to connect 8 standard magnetic contact door sensors to the 8 digital inputs. These sensors are what’s called “closed loop” which means that when the door is closed and the sensor is in contact with the magnet the circuit is closed. Then have the board update via WEBSET a corresponding variable on my ISY-994 each time the sensor status changes.

I am very far from being an experienced electronic tinkerer. As far as I understand, the way to do this is to connect one end of each of the sensor wires to pin 13 (5Vdc) and connect the other end of each sensor wire to pins 5 thru 12.

I am not going to bore you with all the troubleshooting steps I took to understand what’s going on. To make a long story short here is where I am up to now:

My PLC code now is as follows:

START
                TSTEQ IP1 0 
                CALLSUB IP1_OFF  
                TSTEQ IP1 1 
                CALLSUB IP1_ON
                END

IP1_ON:
                ADD 1 VAR5 VAR5
                RET   

IP1_OFF:
                ADD 1 VAR6 VAR6
                RET  

So the system will constantly keep adding 1 to VAR5 when Input1 is on, and will keep adding 1 to VAR6 when input1 is off. So this way I can see what’s going on. I also have the Web Polling Enabled option on.