Home Automation Build From Scratch - Insteon, UPB or Z-Wave

clsanchez77

Hey all -

I am starting to think about building an HA system for my house. I am not new to the idea, but all my past projects were X-10 so I am a little behind the times and could sure use some guidance.

FIrst off, I have to settle on a technology. I had researched UPB to death because I had planned on putting in a HAI Omni system in new construction. However three kids and an economic crash later, I had to sell my lot and bought a house instead. Now I will be paying cash for the system and building it up over time. This means I need something scalable. The new Insteon standards seem to work well, but the newer items seem to be Z-Wave. So I am torn between the three. I am an engineer so my plan is to design this thing until my head explodes and then start actually working on it when my wife (also an engineer) starts withholding,,. Here is what I am looking to do in order of preference:
  1. Remote iPhone Controllable
  2. Hardware Controller & Mac Laptop Accessible/Compatible
  3. HVAC Control for three thermostats/zones (maybe five)
  4. Humidity Monitoring & Response (Bathrooms)
  5. Outdoor Weather Monitoring & Fresh Air Intake Control
  6. Lighting Control (70 at full build out)
  7. Ceiling Fan Control (5 fans with light and speed control)
  8. Limited Home A/V Control
And here are some bonus items that aren't needed but would just be nice:
  • Door Lock Monitoring & Controls (Appear to be limited to Z-Wave)
  • Garage Door Monitoring & Control
  • Determine status of security system
So here are the details: