Monitoring power usage on branch circuits

BrettS

I've been using a TED for several years now to monitor my whole house power usage, but now I'm interested in trying to figure out exactly what is using that power in hopes of helping to conserve more. If I can figure out where my big draws are, then I can concentrate there to help reduce my power bills.

I've ordered a few of the Aeon Labs Smart Energy Switches (Incidentally, Homeseer has them on sale for $39 each until the end of April with coupon code SS-35P, which is $6 less than Worthington and the best price I could find anywhere). These are basically Z-Wave appliance modules that also report energy usage of whatever's plugged into them back to Homeseer (or your other Z-Wave controller software).

They should be great for some of my 120V appliances... TV's, Fridge and Freezer, Washer, etc., but I'm sure that my biggest power users are the 240V appliances... my two heat pumps and their blowers, the electric water heater, the stove and the drier.

Does anyone know of anything that's reasonably inexpensive that can monitor power on branch circuits? The Aeon Labs Smart Energy Monitor looks interesting... it's a whole house Z-Wave energy monitor. As far as I can tell, though, it would work fine if I just put the clamps on my branch circuits, but I've got seven 240V circuits I'd like to monitor and at $90 or so each I think that's more than I want to spend.

I'm looking for something I can monitor through Homeseer, but it doesn't necessarily need to be Z-Wave... or even wireless for that matter. My Homeseer server is in the same closet as my electrical panel, so even running a short serial cable wouldn't be a problem. I'm hoping to spend less than $200 to monitor all seven circuits.

You guys have any thoughts?

Thanks much,
Brett

Check out the Brultech ECM. There are a few plugins available for HomeSeer.