Premise Apparently Premise Doesn't Like MP3 ID V2.4 Tags

Motorola Premise

samgreco

So I had a collection of over 1000 MP3 files in 10 groups. I started playing from number 1. Premise zipped through all 1000 without playing a single one. They had played before.

Perplexed, I started poking around. The files played everywhere else, including in Media Player AND iTunes on the same PC as Premise is on. In fact on every device I have, they played fine. Hmmm...

I decided to go into iTunes and look at the offending files and other MP3s that were still playing in Premise. The only thing I could find is that the problem files were tagged using V2.4. So I figured, what the heck. I had iTunes convert them to v2.3 (like the other known good files).

Low and behold! They play in Premise. I was lucky I spotted that early. This could have gone on for days.

The moral of the story. Don't use MP3 ID V2.4 tags if you're still using Premise.

Now to find out WHAT changed them. Although I suspect iTunes. I always suspect iTunes. I HATE iTunes....

So I had a collection of over 1000 MP3 files in 10 groups. I started playing from number 1. Premise zipped through all 1000 without playing a single one. They had played before.

Perplexed, I started poking around. The files played everywhere else, including in Media Player AND iTunes on the same PC as Premise is on. In fact on every device I have, they played fine. Hmmm...

I decided to go into iTunes and look at the offending files and other MP3s that were still playing in Premise. The only thing I could find is that the problem files were tagged using V2.4. So I figured, what the heck. I had iTunes convert them to v2.3 (like the other known good files).

Low and behold! They play in Premise. I was lucky I spotted that early. This could have gone on for days.

The moral of the story. Don't use MP3 ID V2.4 tags if you're still using Premise.