1-wire electricity monitoring software

Macca

Hi guys,

I am a long time reader of the forum, and have been a long time 1-wire network operator.

I have read with interest the work done here to monitor electricity usage and finally managed to source a new electricity meter with SO pulse output to install in my switchboard. This has now been completed and I have it interfaced to my 1-Wire Automation PC. I currently used Weather Display and LogTemp to read the data from my various sensors. In the 1-Wire API and in LogTemp, I can see the DS2423 counting the pulses from the electricity meter, so I am happy the network is operating OK.

But I am a sparky by trade - installing and modifying hardware is no problem - software is though!! LogTemp will record the DS2423 data, but will not plot it as a graph... my question is, how do I do this? I note a lot of you manage to produce amazing graphs from your data, but I have no idea where to start - hence the reason I pay for software that works!

If anyone can help, please reply - I appreciate any help and advice.

Cheers
Andrew
Wellington, New Zealand.

A quick reply to my own question. I now have the DS2423 interfaced some DDE server sotware. This is relaying the count data reliably (and accurately) to Excel which can display the data OK. However, I 'd really like to use some VB code to read the DDE data and display the electricity usage in a more üser friendly" way. Does anyone have any ideas on how to get VB to accept DDE inputs and to then graph the electricity usage over time? Any help appreciated. in the meantime, I'll keep googling :)