Channel Vision DVR opinions?

WayneW

I am no DVR expert, so I am looking for opinions on this unit. Are there any major features it is missing?

http://www.automatedoutlet.com/CV-DVR-16C
Channel Vision 16-Channel H.264 Network DVR (No hard drive)
Cutsheet http://channelvision.com/index.php?option=...;product_id=185
http://channelvision.com/index.php/Digital...lypage.tpl.html

1 minor shortcoming I see is no RS-232 port and no listing of what PTZ cameras are supported. So I doubt it would work with the Panasonic BC-10A I have. Oops, I guess that is a major feature I missed... no support for IP cameras. But I haven't seen a 16channel hybrid (IP and analog) DVR for close to this price.

Check out the Q-see stuff on Costco.com. You can get a 16 channel h.264 network DVR with 16 outdoor cams for under $1k. The cameras are analog, not IP. But that's a good price for something like that. Comes with a hard drive also. And, if it sucks, they'll take it back.

They have an 8 channel version for $499 also.

It seems to match the specs of other low end DVRs. Keep in mind that if you want to record at the highest resolution, you will only get 7.5FPS.

I am personally looking for one that can do 30fps PER channel, supports web browsers without having to rely on an activex object (so it will work with other browsers and/or HA), and would like ability to receive e-mails (with a snapshot) when motion has been detected. But none of the cheaper ones seem to offer these features.

Are you looking to integrate this with your home automation?

The Q-see at Costco looks interesting. The Q-see documentation is certainly more English than the Channel Vision manual. The bare DVR (no cameras) is only $650 at Amazon. Amazon is good at returns too and I don't have a Costco membership.