connecting ElkM1TWA to M1 Gold

gasbie

Sorry for all these questions. I'm a newbie. I'm kinda confused on how the M1 output works. So, I connected J4 from my M1TWA to J16 on M1 control using the 12 ribbon cable. I placed a jumper on OVERIDE 11, 12 , 13. Correct me if I'm wrong, this means that I can't use output 7 thru 13 on the M1 control for another peripherals. I'm basically left with output 14 thru 16 on the M1 control, right? Now, on the M1TWA I can diasy chain it to another peripheral such as M1RB. So, if i connect M1RB to the M1TWA, does that mean that I will one be able to use just 3 relays off the M1RB? If that is true, what is my other alternative of powering the remaining relays? thanks

If you connected a M1RB to the TWA, then yes, only the relays corresponding to outputs 14-16 would be useful.

Rather than use a M1RB, I would just connect Elk 924 relays to those 3 outputs.

A less expensive alternative to the 924 relay would be the 12V opto-isolated relays you can find on eBay, similar to this one .

Thanks for coming thru again RAL. So with that one on eBay, I will connect one of the output off the M1 control (14, 15 or 16) to the IN screw on this relay? Then I can write an ELK rule to control the relay, right?

Also, I'm just wondering if there is a way for elk m1 control to detect the status of the ELK124. for example, if m1 has to make any annoucement, it knows to turn on the ELKM1TWA amp and broadcast the message. Meaning that if the amp is not on at the time of the broadcast, elk knows to turn it on, and if it is already on, it knows not to do anything. Does elk 124 have similar concept where elk knows to turn it on when custom message needs to be broadcasted and off when not is use. Or am I thinking too far with this?

gasbie said:
Thanks for coming thru again RAL. So with that one on eBay, I will connect one of the output off the M1 control (14, 15 or 16) to the IN screw on this relay? Then I can write an ELK rule to control the relay, right?