Elk M1 Databus enrollment weirdness

rogeremasse

Hello --

This is my first post to CocoonTech and I'm new to the Elk M1, so please be gentle!

The forums moderator upgraded my access to allow me to attach some images that help show my problem. Thank you.

I've recently installed an Elk M1 Gold (firmware 5.2.4) with two keypads on bus addresses 1 & 2, and a 16 zone input expander M1XIN on bus address 4. These are all connected via cat5 wire using an M1DBH data bus hub. My total data bus cable run length is under 1000 feet leaving my bus length under 2000. All my data bus peripherals are in the unterminated state. I've got the RJ45 bus terminator in port 4. All 3 peripherals appear to enroll either using a keypad or Elk RP2 software.

Using Elk RP2 software, I've eliminated all conflicts, but my control is still "Not ready". Specifically, the inputs that are not ready are all the zones on the M1XIN (zones 17-32).

The weird thing is that when I activate the bus enrollment function through the RP2 software, the M1XIN consistently shows up on address 4, but the hardware, firmware and boot versions vary every time I re-enroll. This is all without touching a thing on the actual hardware.

The attached images show what I'm talking about.

Any idea what might be going on?

Thank you.

-Roger Masse

Attachments

• BusEnrollment3.png
    BusEnrollment3.png
    33.5 KB · Views: 36
  • BusEnrollment2.png
    BusEnrollment2.png
    33.7 KB · Views: 30
  • BusEnrollment1.png
    BusEnrollment1.png
    21.4 KB · Views: 24
Is JP3 terminated on the M1 main board? I know anything plugged into the hub shouldnt be terminated, but JP3 on the board DOES need to be terminated.

What about JP1 on the XIN? I think mine came with the jumper off (in a plastic bag) but the instructions say to put jumper in the "No" position if you're not terminating at the XIN (which you are not).