ElkRP under openSUSE 11 with Wine -- Can't Find Database

GraysonPeddie

Hi. I'm running openSUSE as a server, which will serve as a basis for home automation/security controller.

I have used Wine to install ElkRP, which installs fine. So when I launch ElkRP after restarting my computer, I get this message:

Cannot find the operators database or it is not a valid ElkRP operators database.
If it does not exist, you will need to re-install ElkRP.
Do you want to browse for it?

Clicking "yes" exits the program.

Note that I did have Mono installed, but that doesn't make a difference.

I could buy Windows, but my income is super-low-end (read: Social Security Income due to my visual impairment) and that I'm a college student at Tallahassee Community College. So, for my current situation, I can't afford Windows and that in my opinion, Windows is for the rich. ;)

When using XP the files will be placed in:

c:\Documents and settings\All Users\Application Data\RP

In ELKRP you can go to Setup/Options and see where the installation has placed the files. In your installation, I do not know if the installation software knew where to put the files.

You can try it under Linux (any distro, such as Ubuntu or openSUSE). You have to download Wine from the package manager. Here's where ElkRP gets installed:

/home/grayson/wine/drive_c/Program Files/ElkRP

Wine tricks the installer into thinking that it's running under the NTFS partition instead of the ext3 file system under Linux.

Any Linux users out there who can help?

Update: Okay, during the installation under Wine, here's what I get:

(Note: The first line is where I am prompted to execute a command; in this case: wine ElkRP_Full_Install_1_6_26.exe

Code:
grayson@grayson-osserver:~/Desktop> wine ElkRP_Full_Install_1_6_26.exe
  err:wineboot:ProcessRunKeys Error running cmd #0 (2)
  ALSA lib pcm.c:2104:(snd_pcm_open_conf) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib/alsa-lib/libasound_module_pcm_pulse.so