HA and home resale value... Will an HA system increase my homes value at all?

etc6849

I know what my wife's thoughts are on the subject ;), but I'm curious what you guys think and your experiences. I'm new to home ownership, but have turned into an HA junkie over the year so I'm adding a lot of permanent HA stuff to the home that I don't plan to take with me when I move.

I've installed a large zwave lighting system in most of my home (Leviton Vizia RF+) at a cost of about $1700.

I'm working on a large Elk M1G installation at a cost of about $2100 (includes other non Elk stuff too such as a second 42" wiring box, UPS, etc...).

My home is a nice 4 bed + bonus, 2650 sq ft, but it's nothing all that fancy. It may very well not be the type of home people demand having an HA system in (i.e. it's never going to be a $600k+ home).

I plan to add other things such as a dstributed audio system, intercom etc... The home is/will be controlled primarily by Premise running on a mini-ITX PC, but I plan to buy stuff that's standalone or compatible with the Elk M1G. When I move out, I'll take the Premise server with me since I doubt anyone local could ever work on it. Or should I leave the Premise server as it adds great functionality?

I did get a good deal on the home as it was a Fannie Mae foreclosure in SC and built in 2006. Assuming housing prices stay flat, will my homes value increase due to the HA stuff? I'm thinking I'll probably only get back 50%-75% of what I put in (since my labor is free)?

To the right people (a family with a father who loves toys/home automation looking for a new home, or someone who wants to go green and have dimmers everywhere), it might increase its value, but in general, I think all it will do is make your house stand out a little bit more (which is a good thing).