Hardwired Lighting Systems - New Construction

EDP

Newbie here.....I've been following the forum here for quite some time and reading as much as I possibly can on pre-wiring and the different home automation option. It seems like the more that I read though - the more confused I get. One thing is for sure - the home automation industry seems to definitely be in a state of flux. There are so many different options available and more popping up all the time.

We are currently having a home built (Ranch Style (2,300 sq ft) with walkout basement - unfinished). Our builder has graciously agreed to let me prewire whatever I want and I have about another week to decide what I'm going to do. The idea of course is to "future proof" our home as much as possible. My plan at the moment is to install a structured wiring panel in the basement where I will home run Cat6, RG6QS, speaker wire and station wire to various areas in the house. I will also run 2" smurf tube from the panel to the attic and 1 1/2 inch smurf tube from the panel to the Media Center upstairs. I will strictly be prewiring at this point and installing a system later. So far....so good.

Where the confusion comes in for me is whether to plan for a hardwired lighting system (like HAI Omnibus or Centralite Elegance XL) versus going with a power line solution like HLC UPB, an RF solution like Ra2 or something else all together. The builder has agreed to let us come in after the electrical has been run and I'd like to try to keep things as simple as I can (e.g., by not having the electrician involved if possible). It appears the main difference is with the HAI Omnibus I would be daisy chaining Cat5 or 6 between switches, whereas the Centralite Elegance XL would require Cat5 homerun to a central control panel. I'm not completely clear on how either of these solutions interface with the main electrical panel?? If someone could shed some light on that for me, that would be great.