Hello World! Just starting out with Elk M1 Gold

tmehta

Hi everyone!  I am just getting started installing a new M1 Gold system, with
  • 2 - M1KP2 keypads
  • M1EXP Ethernet interface
  • M1XPRF2H Wireless receiver
I am replacing an old security system in my house, and am trying to repurpose the hard wired sensors already there (e.g. Smoke detectors, motion sensors, etc.).

I have a couple of quick questions right out of the gate.  I have wired up the M1G system, and have connected the M1EXP.  I am able to connect to it, but get a long list of conflicts in a yellow window.  I have only connected a couple of zones so far, and will add to them but wanted to set up the device to use a time server for automatic time updates, etc.  But I run into issues when in the config for the M1EXP.  If I make any changes in the setup, and then click on Send, it tells me that the static IP address and default gateway are not in the same subnet as defined by the subnet mask

This error is strange because I have successfully configured the device for DHCP.  I also currently have the green "Conneted" indicator in the main RP2 software window as well...  Any thoughts on making initial progress here?  Do I need to clear all conflicts first? If so, how?

Thanks!
TM

A quick update on this.  I went and resolved all conflicts by finding the corresponding nodes and either disabling zones or clearing things out.