Need Job / Business Idea

phenix

Well I got some bad news today. The long reaching economic problems of this country has made its way to me. The private airline I work for announced it's furloughing 500 pilots today (which includes me). So I'm seeking a new career path. ( I'm not sure what it is but I know I need one). :) I've been playing with automation type stuff for several years now but I'm not really sure if there is much of a market in this economy?

I just wanted to post to see if anyone had any ideas of small niche markets to start a business or service in (it doesn't necessarily have to do with automation).
Or if anyone is on the East Coast of MA (Cape Cod / Boston area) that is in need a new employee?

Thanks a bunch

Todd

Man, I am sorry to hear that. 2009 is gonna go down in history as blood bath, I'm afraid. While there is money to be made in home automation, now may not be the best of times to begin. Unless you have a product or service up your sleeve that's bound to raise interest, that is.

Sorry to hear about your problem Todd. Which airline do you work for? I worked for UAL for about 10 years and 2 years into their bankruptcy. Neighbor is a pilot for AA flying puddle jumpers.

I have been playing with automation (hobby) since the 1970's and what I have noticed reading the trade rags is that the big players in automation are barely keeping up with the economic times.

I believe that many folks that building homes today (that still would rather do this) and are spending say in excess of 500k to build don't mind spending a double digit percentage on some sort of HA. Most home builders that I have dealt with don't have a clue and typically prefer to do it themselves (wrong and cheap and expensive) rather than pay a subcontractor to do the HA work.