Septic Tank monitoring

rickgd

Hello all, First time poster here.

I have a new home that is in the final stages of construction. I have wired the snot out of the place (Im a network engineer) and I am in the process of implementing a moderate HA system using Girder/NR. Intially most of the HA will center around the AV systems and so on. As $$$ permits, I will be adding to it.

I am looking for a solution that would allow me to monitor the water level in my septic tank.
Commercial soultions are ok, as are DYI options. As always, the less $$ the better. :)

This is a new tank and drain field so now is the time to do this (I dont relish the thought of doing it later for obvious reasons). The septic system is designed to pump the waste to the drain field as it is quite some distance away and cannot be fed by gravity alone.

It would be great if it could somehow do the following.
Monitor Water levels
Monitor Sludge/Solids level and Sends an alert or notification to let me know that the tank needs pumping at a certain predefined level
The Monitoring device should be able to connect via either a hardwire or Wifi
Maybe monitor the pump status?
The ability to graph tank levels over time

Im not really knowledgable about the whole septic process so if there are any additional ideas on what to monitor, I would be happy to know about them.

Thanks again for any input

Welcome to Cocoontech! As for monitoring the septic tank, I think you'll know when it's full, at least I always have :). Seriously though, look at industrial ultrasonic sensors. They're designed to monitor sludge, hazardous materials and such in tanks. A very good, but expensive one is the RS-232 Senix ToughSonic TS-30S1-SR232. It runs about $500 but is built like a tank and works great. I've used them at work for a while to monitor all sorts of nasty stuff.