prewire alarm question

xclusive

Hello, long time lurker 1st time posting. We are about to build a house and I'm looking into prewiring an alarm or not. For a basic install they are charging $500 for 2 door contacts (front/back), 2 keypads, one motion detector and a 20in can. This is it and doen't include anything on the 2nd floor. Was wondering does this seem like a fair price or should I keep my money and just use it on retrofitting and diy once I have moved in.

Thanks,

Also wanted to add since this is my first time building some of the simple things I feel like they are way overcharging for or maybe they are good prices and I have sticker shock. Just for example:

Structured wiring panel $790 (includes 10 run & 28in panel)
*each addtl run is $120
*or if 2 wires from same plaet $160
3 types of conduit run (orange flex tube 1.5in with pull string)
*straight up a wall 1floor $60
*a curved run (say from a fireplace to wiring closet) $160
*a run of 200ft or more $240
Prewire for whole house audio
*each room is $340 (includes cat5/16/4 to box & 16/2 to speakers in ceilings)
Surround sound (5 speakers prewire) $450
Wired smoke detectors $125ea

These were just a few prices to name, needless to say after the intial price of house, then adding upgrades, there isn't alot to spend on this. Any suggestions on whats needed upfront so that I can do this later would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

It is what it is. Unless your a DIY guy, you're stuck with paying someone to do this stuff. It used to be you could mutiply the materials times two and you have the cost of labor. Don't know if that still holds up. Locksmiths in NYC are charging people over $600 just to open their homes when they lock themselves out!

Ask your contractor if you can save by doing anything yourself or furnishing materials. A structural wiring enclosure (with cover) should run around $100 http://www.automatedoutlet.com/Home/48-Inch-Enclosures/CV-C-0150E