ElkM1G -> Q-See Doorbell Hack

BeachBum

Hi Cocooners,

I am a first time poster, but hardcore DIYer that has been following for a long time (Thank you!!!). I'm an electrical engineer and computer sci guy by background, so I can go as deep as I need to.

I've got my whole house automated with a dozen different systems. My core systems include an ElkM1G for alarm, notification and light automation. I've got an ISY-99i for more complex automation, lights, thermos, sensors, email-text, etc. I've also got a Q-See QT528 DVR-Camera system recording 24x7. I've also got separate systems for the pool, automated blinds, sprinklers, etc. My mission was to get the entire house automated on an iPhone. So far, so good.

So, I am trying to pull together the best doorbell solution. When I ring the doorbell I want it to announce in the house (through the M1 speakers), send me a text message, and email/text a photo of the front doorstep from the Q-See QT DVR camera.

This is a little bit convaluted, but try and follow along...

I don't have any hardwired line drops near my doorbell switch or transformer, so I am planning on dropping an Insteon I/O Linc in the wall behind the doorbell transformer. This will alert the ISY and send me a text when someone hits the doorbell. I'll setup a rule in the M1G to monitor the I/O Linc and/or the ISY at the same time. This will give me the whole house announcement over the loud speakers (I've got 3 floors). I would also have the M1G trigger an output relay that connects to an alarm input on the Q-See QT528 DVR. I'd setup an alarm config in the Q-See DVR to email a snap of camera #3 when the alarm is tripped. If all works well I'll get a text from the ISY ("somebody is at the front door") and an eMail from the Q-See with a photo of the person.