Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Elk 120 / 124 Voice Modules & the M1


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BaduFamily

BaduFamily

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Twitter:cazwax
  • Experience:novice
  • Software:Harmony, Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 24 July 2019 - 10:33 AM

From reading the installation instructions it appears that these units can't be used in conjunction with the existing audio output from an M1.

 

Am I missing something?



#2 RAL

RAL

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2043 posts
  • Location:Rhinebeck, NY
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 24 July 2019 - 05:10 PM

You're not missing anything.  The 124 and 128 are designed to drive their own speakers.  If you want to have a single set of speakers for both the M1 audio and the 124/128 audio, you could run the two outputs through a small mixer amp.



#3 BaduFamily

BaduFamily

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Twitter:cazwax
  • Experience:novice
  • Software:Harmony, Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Custom
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:AirPlay
  • CCTV:ip
  • Phone:POTS, VoIP via ISP

Posted 06 August 2019 - 11:21 AM

it would have to be a speaker-level mixer tho, right?
unless you know how to get line level out and then to one's own amp! if you do let us know



#4 ano

ano

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3520 posts
  • Location:AZ
  • Experience:guru
  • Hardware:HAI OmniPro II
  • Tech:UPB, ZigBee
  • Audio:HAI
  • Phone:Ooma

Posted 06 August 2019 - 03:05 PM

it would have to be a speaker-level mixer tho, right?
unless you know how to get line level out and then to one's own amp! if you do let us know

https://www.parts-ex...erter--265-4040



#5 bucko

bucko

    Dedicated Cocooner

  • Registered
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Location:China
  • Experience:average
  • Software:Custom
  • Hardware:Elk M1, Custom
  • Tech:Z-Wave, Custom
  • Audio:Custom
  • Video:Custom
  • CCTV:ip, dvr

Posted 07 August 2019 - 10:58 AM

Here is how I do it.

 

 

Attached Files



#6 RAL

RAL

    Cocoonut

  • Registered
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2043 posts
  • Location:Rhinebeck, NY
  • Experience:average
  • Hardware:Elk M1
  • Tech:X10-PLC
  • Phone:POTS

Posted 07 August 2019 - 01:14 PM

ano's suggestion is a nice, inexpensive, off-the-shelf solution.

 

A speaker-level to line-level converter is nothing more than a voltage divider network consisting of a couple of resistors and perhaps a trim pot to allow for adjusting the level.

 

You can see how it's done in this ridiculously overpriced Russound converter.

 

https://www.crutchfi...el-Adapter.html


Edited by RAL, 07 August 2019 - 01:15 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users