An ounce of prevention?

w0wbagger

Hi all, so happy to have found cocoontech! We're just about to undertake a complete gut of a loft up here in Toronto, and while I don't yet know what technology I'm going to use, I want to over-engineer our space while we're down to the framing. I am a computer engineer with decades of programming experience, and am not afraid to get my hands dirty, but once the walls are closed, I want all my tinkering to be with controller hardware/software, not with running cable and or pulling out drywall.

I'm trying to make sense of all the available technologies, and don't love the idea of being at the mercy of a Crestron dealer, but also want reliability.

I was wondering if you can suggest how best I can do this? Here's what I'm thinking.

I've identified 5 distinct audio zones (it's two story, with some walls - one of the zones is outdoors). We'll have 4 video devices - Two TV's (den and guest bedroom), video screen in the gym (no TV, just digitized video assets) and (I'm thinking) 1 touch-screen PC (kitchen) if we don't just use an iPad (we already have one).

I'd like to have access to both HD Cable in both the guest room and the den (so am assuming I need two HD Set-top boxes in my cabinet), with the ability to (somehow) select between cable, my digitized assets, and/or exterior IP video cameras for each video device.

I'd like to include sensors that determine occupancy of the 4 zones - what do I need for this? Motion sensors? heat Sensors? Are they wireless, or wired?

I'd like to include HVAC control (in-floor heating, 2 fireplaces, and one zone of forced air), and camera controls at our gate(s), as well as the ability to buzz them in - we're on the ground floor, and that's how people enter.

I love the idea of integration with a telephone line, such that if we're watching video, caller id pops up, and/or the audio in the house dampens during the phone call.