Home Automation Help & Suggestions

K-Wave

Hello Everyone!

I am new to the forums and very happy I have found this place. It seems like this is a great community with very knowledgeable and helpful members!

I am also new to home automation and would like to get my feet wet. I have spent a great deal of time researching different technologies and unfortunately have found a lot of my searching resulted in outdated information. At this point I am still not sure what HA technology best suits my needs. I am hoping if I provide you with some details maybe someone will be able to help point me in the right direction.

I live in a 2600 sq ft home. The home is over a 100 years old, however all electrical wiring was updated within the past 10 years (however I have not pulled any switches or receptacles to confirm exactly how things are wired, check grounding, etc). Eventually I plan to finish another 800 sq ft in the basement of the home. Right now I am looking for simple HA solutions that will eventually help make my home more energy efficient. Of course there is the "coolness" and "tweaking becomes addictive" reasons to automate, but to start I will keep things basic.

1.) I would like basic lighting control (on/off). I have replaced a large number of bulbs with non-dimming CFLs. As of now I have no interest in creating specific scenes, dimming, etc. In general I would like to eventually implement the following:

3-Way Lights - 7 (14 switches)

Regular Lights - 8

Outdoor Lights - 4 (must be able to operate in cold northeast winters)

I may eventually look into dimming and scene options, but only for a room or two. The vast majority of my lighting needs only requires on/off control.