Anyone using Z-Wave 800 series hardware yet?

electron

Administrator
Staff member
After all the drama with the 700 series hardware, I'm a little bit more cautious about upgrading to 800, but did order the Zooz ZST39 USB interface as I'm really interested in the Long Range feature. So far it looks like there isn't an easy migration route, and may have to rebuild my Z-Wave network again

Just wondering what other folks are doing, and what hardware you may be using.

I have the ZOOZ 800 Series Z-WAVE GPIO MODULE ZAC93 LR. Works great working with my older Zooz 700 series switches and devices.
I use it with a Home Assistant Yellow (so the GPIO module installed on the GPIO header in the project box). I am new to Home Assistant, so it was a new setup/rebuild of the network.

I was so close to pulling the trigger on that module, but they finally released that USB stick, so I went that route. I'll probably rebuild the Z-Wave network again, but was hoping to avoid that this time.

I know there were some custom tools to go from 500 to 700 series, but haven't seen anything that would allow me to move my 700 series based network to 800 series. Is it really that simple?

Depends on your controller. I use HomeSeer, so for me it would be a controller shift followed by a network optimization to ensure neighbors are current.

I know there were some custom tools to go from 500 to 700 series, but haven't seen anything that would allow me to move my 700 series based network to 800 series. Is it really that simple?
Had to check to be sure, but in HomeSeer there is a single zwave command "Send Network information to another Controller and make it Primary".

Install a new zwave stick along side the old one, run that command, wait for all the devices to get migrated, unmount the old stick, move on with life.

That's a pretty nifty feature for sure, I'll have to take a closer look, thanks for the tip!