Asterisk Users Unite!

sic0048

I've talked about setting up an asterisk phone system for years and have finally begun setting up a system in my home. I plan on writing a "How To" at some point because I'm a total newbee when it comes to stuff like this and I rely on "How To" articles that are written in simple terms and clearly explained. Unfortunately, I find that all too often, either there are no simple "How To" out there, or they are woefully out of date. So I like to give back whenever I can. The good news is that setting an Asterisk system up isn't really that hard, nor is it expensive at all.

Personally I've installed PBX in a Flash (PIAF) which includes Asterisk 1.18, FreePBX, and also IncrediblePBX4.0. I use an Obi202 as my ATA phone adapter. Currently I have it all hooked up and working. I'm using a couple of IVR (interactive voice response) menus to allow people to leave a message for either my wife or myself, or even try to reach us by our cell phones (after which the system attempts to connect the call to our cell phones). Over all, just some basic stuff.

I still need to pick up a couple of IP phones and start putting them around the house. I'm really looking forward to having an intercom system via the phones when they are installed. Our house isn't huge, but it is just big enough that it would be nice to use the intercom to call the kids for dinner, or tell someone there is a phone call for them, etc., etc., etc..

I'd love to hear from others that are running an asterisk based system and what type of equipment you use and/or what type of functions you have built into the system. Basically, what cool things are you doing with your phones?

Thanks, I look forward to reading the comments.