Extend Cable between M1xep and M1 Gold

ratfood

Hello everyone.

I am a bit of a noob this is my first install and I would like to install the M1XEP in my crawlspace with all the computer / networking gear and put the alarm system upstairs where the old one was. I have 2 4 conductor cables running to the crawlspace (thanks to previous person) I Know that rs232 only uses 3 cables and is normally good for more than 100 ft. I am wondering what the pin out is and is there a limit in distance? I calculate the distance from crawl space to top floor is about 25 to 35 ft.

Can anyone shed some light. I have tried to hook up the regular rs232 cable and got no joy I will check the cabling and make sure I got it right.

thanks

Rat

Welcome to CocoonTech!

I built a custom cable using phone cord myself, pretty sure I am only using 3 wires. That said, long distances only work with slower speeds, and I believe the XEP might connect @ 115kbps (my run is only 3 feet).

Welcome to CocoonTech!

I built a custom cable using phone cord myself, pretty sure I am only using 3 wires. That said, long distances only work with slower speeds, and I believe the XEP might connect @ 115kbps (my run is only 3 feet).
Thanks for the quick reply Obviously I have done something wrong.... do you have the pin out that you used? is it the same one in the front of the manual?

thanks again

I'm not sure of the Elk, but most RS 232 9-Pin D connectors use pins 2, 3, & 5 being transmit, receive, and ground. Depending on the hardware pins 2 and 3 either need to be 'straight through' on the cable or "crossed". I would try straight through (pin 2 to 2, 3 to 3, 5 to 5 first) If "crossed" is needed it would be pin 2 to 3, 3 to 2, and 5 to 5.

Also, if you have existing Cat5e run in your home, you may want to use THESE RJ-45 to 9-Pin D adapters for incorporate the serial run over those existing cables.