GRI-2600 water sensor

lurlette

Hi all,I am new to elk m1, so please be patient with me, I bought about five of the gri 2600 water sensor to connect to my elk m1 Gold, my question is, can I connect all of them to just the one single 24 volts transformer? Thanks in advance

The 12v versions (2600/2600T) can be powered from the M1 (VAUX Terminals).  If you have 24v versions (2624) I would send them back and buy the 12v versions. 

But to answer your question, yes you can power them all from the same transformer if you wire in parallel and you don't exceed the combined amperage of your transformer.

Note that the 2600 sensors all run on DC power.  So you can't simply power a 2624 sensor from a transformer.  You need a 24V DC power supply.

Sorry,wuench,ral, that was my bad, it's 12 volts, so just to clarify, I can just connect all of them ( say about 7 ) to the 12vaux on the M1 panel right? Thanks

Well as long as you don't go over the total power quota of the panel (1A not in Alarm).   But these only draw 12ma each.

lurlette said:
Sorry,wuench,ral, that was my bad, it's 12 volts, so just to clarify, I can just connect all of them ( say about 7 ) to the 12vaux on the M1 panel right? Thanks

Yes, you can power the GRI 2600s from the VAUX power.  Each one requires 12 mA of current, so 5 of them will require 60 mA.  That's not a lot, but you need to look at what else you are powering from VAUX and make sure you don't exceed 1 Amp. (And better to keep it under 0.8A or so, so you leave some headroom.)

I have to contradict wuench on how to wire them.  The 2600's are normally closed contacts, so you want to wire the contacts in series, not parallel. Just the power wires get connected in parallel.

Ral, sorry, I just want to make sure that I do it right, so for e.g say the 2600 under kitchen sink wire red to + black to - green and white goes to a zone and powder room sink red to + and black to - and same for the others, is that how I am supposed to wire them? Thanks.