Help installing RG6 connections

kurtmccaslin

I am a newbie struggling to install compression connections on RG6 cable. I have a Thomas & Betts IT1000 installation tool and am using Thomas and Betts SNS1p6u compression fittings rated for both RG6 and RG6quad. I have tried it on RG6 and quad-- with the same result.

The stripping and compression of the fitting are both straight forward. My problem is I am struggling to press the cable end onto the cable after it is stripped. After about 10 minutes of pressing and twisting, I am finally able to get the connector fully inserted, but I cant believe it should be this hard. I have blisters on my fingers after installing only 4 end fittings.

Can someone enlighten me as to the trick to get these fittings on? ;)

I am definitely not a pro at this, but in my experience you need to make sure you fold the shielding back so that you just have the aluminum foil layer and dialectic exposed at the tip. If you haven't folded the foil back, or if you fold it back unevenly, then you will run into the problems you describe. Here is a picture of what it should look like:
HDTV_cable5.jpg

Dave

If you are not already using one, you need a tool to hold the connector while you are trying to push the cable into the connector. I use this one here
You can screw the connector on one end of it and then use the tool to get more leverage and pressure for inserting the cable into the connector. Saves a lot of hand pain and it work much better than doing it by hand. This tool is not expensive and can be found at most home supply stores such as Lowes and Home Depot.

If you are not already using one, you need a tool to hold the connector while you are trying to push the cable into the connector.

;) :) :hesaid:

Absolutely. I just got that tool for the wrench part, and didn't even understand what the threaded knob on the back was for. But once I did, it makes a HUGE difference in the pain and effort experience terminating RG6.