INSTEON

Under promise and over perform. I would still put those restrictions in the contract even if you don't hold the customer to them. You can't take on liability for things beyond your control (like manufacturer hardware recalls) and stay profitable. Especially if the costs you are eating are those of another vendor such as an electrician rather than just your own time. At least with the language in place you can go case by case on how much you are willing to eat in a givin situation.

I'm still a rookie in this industry but here is my opinion.

These issues being raised here are exactly why I am not currently offering Insteon as a solution. The majority of my own house is Insteon and I am happy for the most part. The price to performance ratio for Insteon is very good IMHO. However, having said that I don't think it's ready for prime time for Pro installations. If Insteon had field upgradable firmware, it wouldn't be such an issue but for now I'm waiting in the wings.

That sounds good on paper, but I don't think it would fly with my customers...

I'm only selling and installing products that I recommend so if I put in 40 Insteon switches for a customer and then told them 3 weeks later that they all needed to be replaced and that was going to cost them $1000-$1500 dollars!

I agree 100%. We are being paid for our opinion, knowledge and experience.

Under promise and over perform. I would still put those restrictions in the contract even if you don't hold the customer to them.

Very true! CYA

Scott

pkoslow said:
Captain Caveman - Are you planning to cover the labor to replace the flickering swithces? Pleased to hear that you're having good success with Insteon!