VB.NET Programming GC-IRL and GC-100

iostream212

I was very excited to receive my new Global Cache infared learner and GC-100, but was frustrated at trying to get the thing to work. It seemed like the included testing applications were just not working, especially the ir functions. After weeks of research I got the thing up and running and am sharing my findings for others who may be in the same situation.

First off if you just want to get the GC-100 up and running right out of the box download the trial of chipmunk av at www.chipmunkav.com. I had my GC-100 working in minutes with this program.

Second, I am just a hobbyist programmer. I am sure my code isn't the most correct, but it works!

For this program the vb.net form is just two text boxes and a send button. The first box is to type the commands in, the other to receive replies from the gc-100. The send button sends the typed command. Right now the code is for ir functions as it connects to port 4998. The biggest problem I had in sending ir is that I forgot to add the carriage return line feed at the end of the ir command, and thus my commands never completed. The code line in blue shows how I corrected this issue.

All you need to get this program working is to define your gc-100 ip address and port (shown in red). Paste the ir code from the gr-irl ir learner utility (make sure the right module and connector is chosen), and send.

Programming the GC-100
Imports System.Net.Sockets
Imports System.Text
Public Class Form1

Private Sub btnSend_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnSend.Click
Dim client As New TcpClient
Dim stream As NetworkStream
Try
client.Connect("192.168.1.150", 4998)
Catch ex As Exception

End Try

stream = client.GetStream()
Dim myBytes() As Byte = Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(txtSend.Text + vbCrLf)
stream.Write(myBytes, 0, myBytes.Length)
Dim bufferSize As Integer = client.ReceiveBufferSize
Dim myBufferBytes(bufferSize) As Byte